bank holiday weekend sewing plans

A long weekend awaits and I have plans for carving out a little sewing time, as well as fun with my daughter and friends.  First make I have to finish is the Lakeside pj’s, pattern by Grainline Studio.  We bought the fabric, thread and pattern from Purl Soho last summer while on holiday in New York and Miss T loved the cool shot cotton.  Have the pattern cut and hem bound on the top, just awaiting a fitting to work out straps and this pattern should be finished today.  Next project is a baby quilt for a friend at work.

Again with some fabric bought on our NY trip.  I fell in love with Tula Pink‘s ‘new’  – last years – collection ‘Slow & Steady‘ and was lucky to find it at Gotham Quilts, where I just went mad and bought a full collection fat quarter bundle.  Yesterday afternoon after I finished work early – I dashed over to Fabrics Galore to find some coordinating fabric to balance out my design and also plumed for some skinny ready-made bias binding.  I have in mind a design based on

papper, sax, sten

Jenny Haynes from Papper, Sax, Sen quilted bag and Slalom quilt.  Jenny came to The London Quilt Guild’s December meeting to talk to us and I found her talk so inspiring.  Sparked ideas and she was so kind to lets us know tips and tricks on how she constructed her Shalom quilt.  I’m hoping to complete this by Monday, fingers crossed and if there is any more time I can squeeze out of a 3 day weekend I’ll be cutting out

IMG_9568

the cigarette pants from the Maker’s Atelier book, these pants require fabric with a 4% stretch and yesterday again at Fabrics Galore I found a stretch denim that I hope will work.  It’s an over dyed super dark indigo denim and its also pre-washed, so hopefully nothing will get the indigo smudge while I am working with it.  But as with all things, think I’ve loaded up the plans a little optomistically and as long as the quilt is finished I’ll be happy.  Do hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

happy may day

2 thoughts on “bank holiday weekend sewing plans”

Comments are closed.