The Shawl Collar Coat | pattern review

IMG_9189

I’ve been wearing the shawl collar coat so much since I finished it and only today managed to get photo’s of it after work.  So thought I’d share a review of the pattern today.

Pattern: The Shawl Collar Coat by The Maker’s Atelier.

Fabric: wool fabric from FabWorks.

IMG_9159

Notions: universal needle no 11, Gutermann thread, sew-on snaps. The snaps I used are over sized and plastic, so much easier to sew on than the metal versions that can snap one’s thread.

Pattern description: It’s unlined, raw-edged and can be fastened with just a snap fastener.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, a wonderful make.

IMG_9168
Were the instructions easy to follow: clear well written instructions and diagrams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern: straight forward to make, if like me you make a lined version and don’t follow the raw edge – do read the full pattern – unlike me!  I like the clear instructions and this makes the patterns suitable for everyone.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I used a wool knit fabric and fully lined the coat and put pockets in the side seam, rather than adding patch pockets as the pattern shows.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others: Yes, planning another version in cashmere or alpaca.

IMG_9498

Conclusion: Wonderful pattern and a delight to wear.  It can we worn collar up or down, lined or un-lined, lots of options and a brilliant wardrobe must have!

IMG_9499

NB.  I paid for the pattern and the views are entirely mine.

3 thoughts on “The Shawl Collar Coat | pattern review”

  1. The sizing is true to measurments given, I made the size 12 and can wear a winter cardigan/jacket underneath. Maybe if your a 10 – 12 go for the 10. Will email more details.

    Like

  2. I keep coming back to look at, as I love it so much! And it looks so professional, you really made a good job of this. How do you find the sizing of their patterns? true to size, i think I’m a 10 to 12 UK size now a days so would a 12 be a good size to make?

    Like

  3. Oh wow! I am in love with your coat, looks so good on you. And its so my style too. I think I might have to invest in this pattern and take another trip to Merchant & Mills for some more boiled wool. I can so see me wearing this. Xx

    Like

Comments are closed.