The Maker’s Atelier – TheEssential Collection | review

sewing-with-style

I was eagerly awaiting the publishing of The Maker’s Atelier – Sewing with style.  I have been a fan of Francis’ patterns since I first met her at a Selvage fair just after the Maker’s Atelier launched.

the-essential-collection-bag

The book contains 8 essential patterns, 2 of which are available as stand alone patterns.  The ultimate pencil skirt and raw edge coat, I have made both and they are brilliant.  The instructions are well written and make very easy to wear clothes.  Included within every pattern chapter are full instructions on how to make each garment, finishing details, how to make more with the pattern, fabric choices and lots of styling options.

the-essential-collection-wrap-skirt

The patterns are for a pencil skirt, drape front top, cigarette pants, tie neck blouse, book bag, raw edge coat, wrap skirt & over-size t-shirt, with a size range from 32 inch bust to 46 inch bust.  I particularly like the asymmetric hem on the wrap skirt.

the-essential-collection-blouse

With this book you can make a complete stylish wardrobe easily and is the first book for dressmaking I’ve found that I really love.  Others have been ok, but disappointing in some aspects. This has not disappointed!

the-essential-collection-back-cover

I’ve been looking for fabrics and have samples on their way, ready for me to choose!

 

This is not a sponsored review and I purchased the book myself.

