The Landgate | a review

the-landgate

Goodness its been a while, work has been very busy and has meant not so much sewing time. The landgate has been wanting to be made for a while, Sarah kindly told me quite how long – as we met up in Rye last summer for my first trip to Merchant & Mills.  I had been concerned that my old machine wouldn’t sew the oilskin and having tried a small section was right, my new machine sewed the fabric like a dream.

Pattern:  The Landgate by Merchant & Mills.

Fabric: Gold British oilskin – Merchant & Mills.

Notions: denim size 12 needles, all purpose thread,  Merchant & Mills brass zip.

Pattern description:  This was a straight forward pattern to sew, I followed every step and opted for metal eyelets for a more professional finish – the pattern does say to make button holes.  Delighted with the finished jacket.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern: I loved the easy construction and pocket options, thought I may make another version in denim with pockets on the outside, great for walking the dog.  Had anticipated it could be tricky and with a fabric I have newer used before – was wrong on both counts.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: bound the hood facing with bias tape.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others:  Yes, once I got home thought I’d bought a ‘cagoule’ pattern- showing my 70’s roots there!  Perfect outdoors, gardening, walking and of course rain wear.  Would be a fab make for a Chap too, there are pattern changes, very straightforward.

 

3 thoughts on “The Landgate | a review

Comments are closed.