Big Easy Top | a review

There’s been some sewing going on!

BE Main 936

image from The Maker’s Atelier

I made the collarless version earlier in the year with an amazing wool jersey I brought back form a trip to Copenhagen and decided to make a lighter sweatshirt version with the cowl neck.  Perfect for putting on after surfing and walking along English beaches this summer.  In fact I wore it this morning walking the dog before work.

me Big Easy Top

Pattern: The Big Easy Top by The Maker’s Atelier

Fabric: Fleece lined sweatshirting from Fabrics Galore.

Notions: Schmetz stretch needles, Gutermann sew all thread.

Pattern discription: Simple, stylish and easy to make, these two styles flatter most body shapes. Choose between a round-necked, slim-sleeved, longer top or a more boxy style with a grown-on cowl neck.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Were the instructions easy to follow: Yes, brilliant, well written pattern and super fast too.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern: I love the simple lines and the way it is cut and goes together so easily.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: none

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others: Yes, will defernatly sew again and its a great pattern for any beginner.  As with Fransis’s patterns they are great to wear and make.

Conclusion: Love this pattern, easy to wear and make in lots of different fabrics.

big easy top a

here it is with the cowl up and down.

big easy top b

And just in case I want to slip it on back to front I added a lable!

big easy top close up

To stitch the fabric I used an elongated stretch stitch on my machine and overocked the seams as I went.  It was pointed out to me that I could have just used the overlocker – but I do like to use my machine and overlocker – how do you stitch stretch fabrics?

 

4 thoughts on “Big Easy Top | a review”

  1. Such a gorgeous top, I love both of the versions that you have created. I also like to use my sewing machine and overlocker, what I don’t like doing is keep threading and rethreading the overlocker when I use the cover stitch….but I just love the machine!!

    Like

Comments are closed.