epp – shimmer 2

hexy diamonds

With the fabrics left over form the Shimmering Single Girl quilt, I’ve started to make up 1 inch hexagons to form diamonds.  The idea is to make quilted cushion covers for my bed, although I have started to think I may even have a try at a lampshade or upholstering a small chair with the final hexy fabric.

eep close up back

I love the quicker basting of whip stitching the hexagons, found that if I use much larger templates this method doesn’t work so well.   Also tried glue basting and although super quick, do somehow prefer this way. You can also see my templates are hole punched as it makes popping out the templates so much quicker – what ever method you use the punched hole is brilliant.

epp blues

Also working in the pale silver grey fat quarter I bought, as it seemed a waste not to and its building up really well.  Shimmer 2 has really become a firm favorite line and can not wait to see what Jennifer Sampou comes up with in her next collection!

