raw edge coat

raw edge boiled wool coat

At the weekend I made a new spring coat, its the Maker’s Atelier unlined raw edge coat pattern.  Found the 100% boiled wool at Dragonfly Fabrics, its not the cheapest but is 100% wool and a joy to sew and wear.  I made 1 alteration, its 30cm longer than the original and also changed the taper of the side seams to adjust for the length.

vintage handmade belt

The belt is vintage and was made by my great aunt, its hand painted wooden buckle and appliquéd with wool felt.  Amazingly it has seen lots of use and still going strong!

vintage applique belt close-up

and at the side

vintage handmade applique belt

Thinking of making a new version for the coat, maybe embroidered?  So love this pattern, would recommend to anyone and perfect for a beginner.

6 thoughts on “raw edge coat”

  1. I have this pattern, I have some boiled wool…seeing yours is the inspiration I need to get on and sew it! I love the colour of yours 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh this is a good idea! I never would have thought raw edges have their place but on this coat they really look cool. I want to whip up a spring coat and maybe this is the one! Great belt too!

    Like

  3. What a lovely Spring coat. And a wonderful looking pattern, I will have to go and have a look at it. My sewing list is getting longer every time I look at clever sewers blogs, well done!

    Like

Comments are closed.