the big easy top

the big easy top makers atelier

the Maker’s Atelier image

I fell in love with the big easy top by The Maker’s Atelier as soon as it came out and knew it would be perfect for the lovely wool knit jersey i bought at Skipper Stoffer in Copenhagen just before Christmas.  The pattern is designed for boiled wools & jerseys as they can have raw hems so did have to think through the finishing of raw edges, did buy a fabulous cuff trim but this was only enough for the cuff.

the big easy top

Here she is, just before I pressed her and am so pleased with the relaxed look.  Even wore it out last night!  My daughter saw it and though I should make a slightly longer version as a dress, the patterns are so versatile.  Francis makes kits as well, so makes it even easier as there is no hunting for fabrics.

the big easy top cuff close up

I overlocked all the seams and also overlocked on the cuff trim.  The edges were more tricky and decided to go with a simple running stitch.  I will be hand washing the jumper, so thought this would be enough, if not will ask a friend with a flat lock machine to finish them off for me, to get a perfect professional finish.

the big easy top neck line close up

I’ve found a fab boiled wool and will be trying that out soon.  Ditto Fabrics have a great selection of light weight boiled wools, MacCulloch & Wallis and Dragonfly Fabrics.

This is not a sponsored post, I bought the pattern and fabric myself.

4 thoughts on “the big easy top

Comments are closed.