New Look 6304

new look 6304 shirt

Last term I started a class for advanced dressmaking and only managed to complete half due to work commitments.  So I never got beyond the toile stage of making the NewLook 6304 chosen by our tutor.  So with a few pattern stacked like a Heathrow landing schedule decided to finish this first.

New Look 6304 a

I used a beautiful shirting fabric from Fabrics Galore and a light weight iron on interfacing.  It was a straight forward make, although I didn’t like it half as much as the McCalls 6436.  Just a few finishing details that were better on the McCalls pattern, although over all a great project and very useful wardrobe basic.

new look 6304 back

The back has darts, shaped side seams and bust darts to give shaping.

new look 6304

The pattern gives a few options , I chose view A.  Over all pleased with the result and just need to get some buttons to completely finish.  Thought I’d also try the Maker’s Atelier Box Shirt pattern, great easy shape to wear and could be dressed up or down.  Have the new Big Easy Top lined up for tomorrow.  If you haven’t tried any of the Maker’s Atelier patterns do, wonderful wearable shapes, well written, work and if you don’t have a fabric stash to raid there are wonderful complete kits available.

3 thoughts on “New Look 6304

  1. Looks lovely, I’ve made an Archer and really enjoyed doing so but I fancy making a more fitting shirt next time. And this pattern looks really familiar – I’m wondering if I have it in my stash…..off for a look!! 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.