Quilting inspiration | Red & White

red and white seattle swap blocksThis year my quilt guild has entered a few inter Guild swaps, we decided to swap blocks and chose red and white as a common theme.  So eventually we could use the blocks to make a quilt for ourselves or for charity.  Above are my swap blocks from 2 lovely ladies in the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild.  I love red and white together, there is a new book I saw on Amazon called Red & White Quilts: infinite varieties: presented by the american folk arts museum and have it on my wish list.  Its a catalogue of the Park Avenue Armory exhibition, showcasing the collection of Joanna S. Rose.

red and white welsh quilt

I thought I’d share some of my favorite quilts from my pintrest board, above is an antique Welsh quilt dating back to 1880’s.  The simple lines, in red & white with impeccable quilting, perfect simplicity.  Below is an antique Amish quilt.

amish red and white quiltSome people believe that Welsh quilts may have inspired the Amish when they first settled near Welsh communities in Pennsylvania.

red and white quiltsource

red and white cross quiltsource

red and white quilt wavesourcered and white house quiltsource

red and white bars quiltsourcered and white blockssource

and finally a wonderful courthouse steps quilt by Needles and Lemons.courthouse steps

One thought on “Quilting inspiration | Red & White

  1. Oh those beautiful Welsh quilts! I visited the Jen Jones shop in Lampeter and they have such beautiful ones! My quilt board started out with the Welsh quilts, but there are just so many that I’ve incorporated them all. One day maybe I will join you and the other quilters….it is such an exquisite and unique art form. Absolutely love your red and white blocks!

    Like

Comments are closed.