Bakestones | a recipe

bakestonesBakestones or Welsh Cakes as they are sometimes call are a delicious griddle cake from Wales and ‘baked’ on a bakestone.  Many famillys have their own version and I thought I’d share my familys recipe.   They are somple to make and quick too, as they are griddled for aprox 8 – 10 minuets, lovely walm or cold.

Recipe

8oz self raising flour

4oz caster sugar

4oz butter

3oz sultanas

1 free range egg.

Put hob on to a medium heat the griddle, a large heavy base fry pan can be used.

To begin with sift the flour into a bowl and add the butter, rub in the butter to flour until it resembles bread crumbs.

DSC_0091

Add in the sugar and sultana’s tot he flour and butter.  Then mix the egg with 1 teaspoon of milk and add mix into the dry ingredients.  Make into a soft dough.  I sometimes leave mine to rest in the fridge for 20 minuets.  On a floured work surface roll out the dough until aprox 1/4 inch thick.

bakestones

Place the cut out bakestones on pre heated griddle and cook for 3 – 5 minusts each side, watching they don’t burn.

DSC_0115

When cooked both sides place on a cooling wrack.  I sometimes sprinkle them with caster sugar while hot.

DSC_0134

They keep well and perfect for a tea time treat.  Occasionally I add a teaspoon of mixed spice or freshly grated nutmeg, you can add currants or mixed dried fruit.

I you do bake a batch, do let me know!  Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Bakestones | a recipe”

  1. Welsh cakes! I made my first batch for last St. Davids Day – they were a bit small, but really good. Recipe nearly identical to yours, and I added the extra spice and currants. (Can’t believe it took me sixty years to finally do it for myself…)

    Like

Comments are closed.