The Flora in tana lawn

Flora | by hand london

So in my last post I said that I’d be making the Vogue 8993 and as I was pinning it out – up popped the Flora into my head.  Last year I made 4 silk Flora inspired bridesmaid dresses and they worked beautifully – patterns swapped and this was a dream to make.  Using a deep dark navy silk dupion from the Silk Society as piping around the neck line, arms and waist – do love piping.  Just hand stitching the lining and hem to finish.

flora | by hand londonI moved the concealed zip to the side and cut bodice|skirt on the fold to avoid any back seams – I felt it just looks better that way.

flora | by hand londonNow to find a jacket – probably a cardigan and make the hat!  I’m a trained milliner and had to give up working as a milliner after major surgery 8 years ago.  Anyway a little fascinator is well on its way and have had fun making flowers out of left over bias and piping, just have to find my feathers tomorrow.  Will post a photo next week on the day!

silk rose

