finishing projects

McCalls 6436

I have been working full time over the past few weeks and not had a chance to start my Makers Attelier coat, have been sewing simpler projects (thats to say didn’t want to take my new pattern to work and too exhasuted to sew at home).  The dotty chambray fabric sleeveless shirt is for the monster and my second from the brilliant McCalls 6436.  It is a well written pattern with bust ajustments included, so no bust ajustments needed.  The dotty chambray is from Fabrics Galore and buttons from John Lewis.

McCalls 6436

I used my sewing machine to sew on the buttons, so much quicker than by hand.  If you haven’t tried and you have a foot for this on your machine, do try – saves so much time!

vogue 8968

The second finish today is Vogue 8968 in a lovely soft grey linen again from Fabrics Galore.  The dress is very quick to make, only time consuming thing to sew is the hem.  The ‘asymmetric  skirt’ is double, one side stitched to the bodice and then folded under and hand stitched.  I guess this stops any seams being seen, but if I made this again may well skip this and have the seams on show or use a very light weight fabric as lining.  Hoping to wear this in the summer, when ever it arrives!

bustle and sew stitch along

I have also joined up for the Bustle & Sew stitch along, for the times I curl up on the sofa and watch a DVD – with Poldark having finished my weekly tv watching is almost zero – just Vera keeping me tuning in.  Thought I’d did each book spine a title – although think I may well take a little longer to stitch than some other brilliant needle women.  Any suggestions for must watch tv or DVD’s?

