St George slaying the Burda dragon

St george and the dragonSt George slaying the dragon by Gustave Moreau

Happy St George’s day!  Just a very quick post – I’ve finished the Burda 6918.  It is super easy and very quick to make once you work out the pleat placement, didn’t use a concealed zip and made it slightly more fitted.  Have found Burda the trickiest patterns to use, simply as I am visual and sitting down and reading lots of instructions is almost impossible at work and at home I just want to get sewing!

Burda 6918

If I make this again I will change the pleats and add pockets in the side seam, thought it could be great in gingham?  Off on a day trip to Margate in the summer and have to dress in vintage style, so this could be the dress to go in?  What do you think?

Burda 6918

It doesn’t look great on my mannequin – she is far more streamlined than me! Yesterday I went to the Decorative antiques and textile fair in Battersea Park, if you can, do go – full of so many beautiful things!  I spied some amazing mannequins with wonderful shapes

decorative antiques and textile fair

we are so luck not to have to squeeze and be laced into corsets.  Although I loved the waspish waist & bustle shapes for their beauty.

jar's of threadThere were some amazing trimmings, millinery blocks, trimmings and fabulous jars of thread.  They look absolutely perfect!

1 thought on “St George slaying the Burda dragon”

  1. Beautiful dress Poppy. I love this style of dress but unfortunately they don’t really suit me. I’m more of a A line or loose shape style of dresser. But I do so admire those that can make and wear these gorgeous creations.

    Like

Comments are closed.