Quilting small projects

cotton & steel quilted pencil case

With spring on its way I have been looking at my  storage boxes and unpacking.  Inside were all sorts of small pieces of fabric, kept from dressmaking and quilting project and not been used.  Just started cutting squares from the smaller pieces and from a larger pieces left over from a Mortmain dress made a huge boxy pouch that is now sitting behind my sewing machine – full of all my sewing bits.

boxy pouch

Today I have a few pieced project to quilt and a small pile of 3 inch Cotton & Steel squares that I am going to make a wash bag from – thought I’d use a shower curtain as a water proof lining.  Have you used one to line or make a wash bag?  Thought it would be easier to sew, as laminated fabrics can be a pain and also far more expensive.

pot holders

Also found some embroidered hot pads that hadn’t been finished, bound them with one of my favorite fabrics to bias cut by Riley Blake green diagonal stripe from Tikki Patchwork and now they are ready to fly off as an Easter gift.  Its been the most productive few days in quite a while, I supose recovering from a bad cold and loosing my voice has added bennifits!

