2014 review in makes

he Twelve Days of Christmas - illustrated by Brian Wildsmith (1972)The Twelve Days of Christmas – illustrated by Brian Wildsmith (1972) 

This year has been quite a turbulant time for the monster and me.  My faith has helped pull me through along with the love of family and friends – for them I can not be more thankful.  I have made more clothes this year than quilts.  Dress wise I have discovered a favorite pattern, The Mortmain

20140311-192307.jpgthis was the first, made in cotton fabric from a John Lewis reprinted vintage design.  I wear this dress to work and love it, I modified the bodice to be more fitted and also I used an invisable zip.  After that a few more arrived, one a little longer, one with the exposed metal zip after the Gather Girl’s let me know where to find the 22 inch metal zips – Jaycotts.  I now have 4 hanging in my wardrobe and also 1 nealy finished.

IMG_2789The Vogue 8956 wrap skirt is a great pattern and have made 3 skirts from the pattern view B & C.  Its quick to make, nothing tricky at all and a great wardrobe staple.  Below is a quick snapshot of some of the clothes I’ve made this year – not always managed to photograph everything.  The Hot Patterns was the only disaster interms of overall fit, although I did have an ironing disaster with a blouse part way through construction and will never ever skim and buy Polyester instead of silk ever agin.

The Priscilla Slip  colette patterns laurel  IMG_3714  hot patterns  the mortmain  mortmain dress

colette patterns Myrtle  victory patterns | madeleine  mortmain dress Gatherkits  lottie Blouse | Simple Sews  the maker atelier | bomber jacket simplicity 1609  by hand london | flora

I made 4 silk crepe de chine flora bridesmaids dresses, such a fantastic pattern and have my eye on a special fabric about to fly into the sale at work.  Will be a great summer dress, along with a few patterns I found this year and plan to stich as soon as I can find the right fabrics.

thetwelvedaysofchristmassource

Quilting has been a little slower, some EEP as well as machine piecing.  Although with 2 new babies on their way I am planning 2 more baby quilts for early January.

clamshell block  ferris wheel baby quilt  IMG_3348  20140321-173506.jpg hexy logcabin block

IMG_4549  IMG_4859  IMG_5264  hot water bottle cover  15757463582_abe3ff7545_o  15615530357_d41856db63_o

thetwelvedaysofchristmas17source

There were lots of little makes throughout the year with the odd tutorial dotted in too.  Its been great to concentrate on sewing with everything going on, the concentration needed really does help.  A little meditation time when all goes well and then there are the times the quick un pick is needed!  But after my bro decided to start misehaving I realised how much I depend on him to help me relax, he’s now home and waiting to be pluged in.  Here is a snapshot of some small projects that have been whipped up:

st mungos hat  ribbed cowl  shopping bag  IMG_3065  free motion machine embroideryIMG_3544  japanese knot bag  IMG_3616  needlecase  hot water bottle tutorial 6sewing bee | urban thread  liberty kitten | urban thread  silent night | urban thread  monogram | urban thread  egg cosy | urban thread  christmas stocking  pin-ring 12  never more the raven

Thank you so uch for all your comments and emails – instergram & twitter too!  I do hope you are all enjoying Christmas and wishing a wonderful Healthy & Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “2014 review in makes”

Comments are closed.