Sewing for Christmas

sewing for christmas 2014This is one of the last makes before Christmas, my sewing machine has had a breakdown under the stress and now hopefully can be fixed.  I was stitching my Christmas Mortmain in a fabulous silk and it just would not sew a straight line and then refused to work all together (have just looked into my wardrobe I have 5 Mortmain dresses – so it really has been my fav pattern of 2014!).  Its lucky that I can sew at work and have finished off a heavily quilted hot water bottle cover.

hot water bottle coverThe quilting is almost matchstick, I used the Janome 6600 built in walking foot as a guide.  I can not remember where i found the fabric, the batting inside is insul bright from Fabrics Galore and lined in plain cotton.  Insul Bright is simply the best insulated wadding I have found, keeps toes, teapots & boiled eggs warm and brilliant for oven gloves, table mats or pot holders.

hotwater bottle coverIf you’d like to make the hot water bottle cover, here’s my tutorial.  The quilt int he background was my very first machine pieced quilt, the brilliant bubble quilting was done my Karen at the Running Chicken – she is a brilliant long arm quilter and has a lovely sellection of fabrics in her on line store.  Ok now to pack up some presents and clear up where my sewing machine normally lives.

