gifts for Christmas

sewing for christmas 2014With Christmas just under 2 weeks away, are you ready?  I’m not a big internet shopper, although Etsy did prove to be invaluable this Christmas with the over time I’ve been doing at work.  I’ve been scaring South London traffic cycling to the sorting office to collect parcels, off again this morning!

IMG_5396My makes list has nearly been completed, poor machine now needs an urgent service.  At work yesterday managed to make quite a few pin rings, lots of interest from people asking what I was doing!  I thought I’d share the tutorial they are super quick and only require a 4 inch square of fabric and a little stuffiing.

IMG_5309What you will require : 4 inch square of fabric, matching thread and some toy filling.

pin_ring_1

1.  Cut 1 4inch square of fabric (here I have used an off cut of British tweed from Fabrics Galore).

pin-ring 22.  Fold the square in half and pin.

pin-ring 33.  Stitch using a 1/4 inch seam allowance around the 2 open edges.

pin_ring_44.  Make a 1 inch slit on the folded edge.   I also sniped off the pointed seam allowance, as below.  Turn through and be careful when pushing through the points.

pin-ring 55.  Yours should look a little like mine below, if made in quilting cotton the points are a lot sharper.

pin-ring 66.  Start to fill your triangle, I placed lots of stuffing in the central part – do not fill the edges as these are going to form the ring part of your Pin Ring.

pin-ring 77.  Whip stitch closed the opening.  I use a name lable to hide my whip stitching – but thats because it is so untidy.

pin-ring 99.  To form the ring, fold the two ‘wings’ around your finger.  I then placed a long pin through to secure the wrapped ‘wings’.

pin-ring 1010.  Stitch in place with a matching thread and you will have a fab new piece of sewing kit or jewellery!

pin-ring 11I did play with shapes and also made a rounded version, in the tweed it worked brilliantly.  Have fun and do show me your pin rings if you make one.  They are addictive, here’s a hand full in shades of Kona Solids.

pin-ring 12

