simplicity 1609

IMG_5344I made the monster Simplicity 1609.  She loved the dress when Dave, the Hairy Biker made it on the celebrity sewing bee.  I found the fabric and pattern at the crafty sewer, tartan is great to sew with and not difficult to match up the pattern.

IMG_5349It’s unlined and very quick & straight forward to put together.  It fits really well and the sizing is true to the measurements.  I overlocked all the seams to give a neat finish.  So very tempted to make one for myself!  This version is 6 inches shorter than the original and to make it seam less homemade I added a label.  Used a standard zip with this dress, I stitched to the base of the zip and then with a large stitch finish the whole seam.  Press open and then place the zip on top of the seam, tack and then stitch into place.  That way I get a good, hidden zip placement.

IMG_5311For the hem I used one of my favorite dressmaking tools, brilliant for very even hems.  With the fabric left over I even managed to make a mini wrap round skirt!  So enormous value out of 2 meters of fabric.  I am cutting out my last dress before Christmas and hope to have it finish tomorrow – its my entry to the #gatherxmasparty.

