sports luxe bomber jacket – The Makers Atelier

IMG_5101I made the monster a sports luxe bomber jacket over the weekend and we are both delighted – only the poppers to be snapped on!  The fabric is boiled wool from Fabrics Galore and will be really warm, perfect for a student running around town.  The cuff fabric is a cotton rib jersey again from FG, so much easier to sew with than I had anticipated.

IMG_5047     IMG_5048     IMG_5049    IMG_5058    IMG_5059

Things I learnt, using a walking foot really helped.  The boiled wool is pure wool and a little buckly, I used a stretch stitch on my machine with a jersey needle, then over locked all the seams to neaten everything.  Also used a twin needle to stitch the front placket in place, for this I used a bobbin instead of having a second spool of thread.  My overlocking thread came from Wimsew, a brilliant haberdashers and well worth a visit – their overlocking thread is great value.

IMG_5071I also finished my first block in the Bee Europa 2014 – 15, and my bee queen has now received it – I loved the process and can not wait to see the finished quilt!  The pattern is called Big Star and we followed a tutorial from the Missouri Star Quilt Company – it is big too coming out at 25 inch square.

