honestly healthy

Disaster struck at home when I slipped at the side of my sewing table and my overlocker went flying, its sadly completely destroyed and while I wait for a new machine to arrive I baked (find it very comforting).  Recently I’ve been advised to change my diet and with a little investigating I discovered Honestly Healthy and this great cookery book.

sticky seed flapjacks The recipes are all based on eating an alkaline diet  to give ones body a balanced way of eating.  I am working my way through and so far, all the the meals have been a success and one has become a firm favorite – butternut squash risotto.  I’ve made the switch from arborio rice to pearl barley, deliciously nutty alternative.  Thought I’d try the sticky seed flapjacks recipe and our picky flapjack household are sold!  We have tried many flapjack recipes over the years and found Lorraine Pascale flapjacks are our favorite.  So if you’d like to give this healthier alternative a try this half term click here for the recipe.  I don’t have a food processor or blender and managed this really easily with a blender stick and switching to porridge oats instead of jumbo oats.  Using agave syrup avoids the sugar highs & lows associated with refined sugar and is great in tea too.

 

2 thoughts on “honestly healthy”

  1. It has held up dresses, although it’s arriving today! So back to stitching tomorrow. I met a lady last week who it had happened to and wondered how, now I know – health and safety checks!

    Like

  2. Oh no! The over locker! That is a disaster. Hope the replacement arrives quickly to let you carry on with all the dresses.

    Like

Comments are closed.