knitting in the wind

st mungos wooly hat dayWith the wind and rain I have started knitting (something of a comfort when it gets cold), first a hat and now a cowl, when an email came through this morning from St Mungo’s.  They have put out an appeal for 2014 hats to be knitted by 31st January.   St Mungo’s is a wonderful charity helping homeless people, they have a move-on unit in London to help crack-using sex workers to move away from the streets and other really worthwhile programs.  So if you’d like to join in, there are 3 knitting patterns on St Mungo’s website and once completed send them back to St M and they will be ebaying them along with celebrity hats to raise money towards helping the homeless.  There is also a facebook page and twitter where you can find out more, if you can’t knit then you can bid over at Ebay or get involved in other ways.

IMG_2718I knitted this hat from a great Ravelry pattern, I’m not the fastest knitter so love chunky yarns the hat above was made from an aran yarn and I thought I’d take advantage of the sales to find a super chunky yarn and knit the chunky cap.  With knitting smaller items I tend to slip them in circular needles and can then throw my project in my handbag and knit on the bus, tube or where ever I find myself.

1 thought on “knitting in the wind”

Comments are closed.