stitching | first aid kit

IMG_2608What does one make for the man who has everything?  My brother can be tricky and most years I go to Whole Foods and wonder around filling a trolley and nibbling on the lovely delicacies out to taste, then the ladies make up a wonderful hamper.  This year with a much smaller budget and trying to make most of my present list, I decided to make a first aid kit.  The embroidery was done on a Janome 350E (so on my wish list!).  Lined in a fun red and white stripe and interlined with insul bright as I had run out of batting, so it is a little stiffer – but if travelling to hot country one could add a cool pack.

IMG_2601

Citaplast baume is brilliant for any home first aid kit and I chose a few more useful first aid basics.  All wrapped up and awaiting Father Christmas to deliver.

IMG_2593Another hot water bottle, this time made in a Kaffe Fasset fabric and again lined in insul bright – did I mention Fabrics Galore have started stocking insul bright?  Its brilliant stuff, I use it for all my hot water bottle covers, tea cosies, oven gloved and pot mits.  If you are after the extra wide insul bright Empress Mills stock it.

IMG_2592At work this week I was chatting to a lady who said, every year her grandmother made the all the girls in her family the same item.  Thought this was a brilliant idea, will have to wait until next year to start that one!  The one tradition I have kept up is taking the monster shopping for a new Christmas tree decoration and when we unpack the tree decorations each year, we can look back at the decorations she chose and laugh.  The Christmas skunk still makes me chuckle every time!  Do you have any family traditions?

2 thoughts on “stitching | first aid kit

Comments are closed.