Elisalex dress: nearly finished

Image

I’m nearly finished, just the hem and the hook & eye to go.  I really love this dress, its my second pattern from By Hand London and I can really recommend them!  The pattern is well written and found the fabric requirement spot on (I had nearly a meter left over from the Anna). The sizing is good and now I am learning to trust my Lady Valet, fitting is getting easier, although I haven’t made any major changes.  One change I will make next time is to fully line the dress, but that’s just me and a personal preference.  There are some brilliant versions around, I love Dolly Clackett’s, closet case files spotty, portia lawrie to name but a few.  If you haven’t tried out By Hand London and want to do a spot of dressmaking, do! 

ImageAnd if fitting in an invisible zip is daunting, check out this brilliant tutorial!

