Needlecase tutorial

Image

The London Modern Quilt guild have had a challenge to make a needle case, last year I made the tiny hexy needle case to go along to the first Fat Quarterly retreat.  So used this as my inspiration and found some fabulous vintage cotton reel fabric in Peter Jones.

Image

If you’d like to know how to make it here’s what I did:

Cut out 8.5 inch x 5 inch rectangles in man fabric, lining and batting.

Image

cut out 2 pieces of felt 4.5 inches x 3.5 inches,Image

place on a sandwich of batting and lining fabric and stitch the felt down through the sandwich.  Pulling threads through to the back.Image

I attach a length of ribbon and stitch  it in place, twist and pin so I don’t stitch the ribbon into a seam.

Image

After stitching a 1/4 inch seam, snip off each corner so the corners will be nice and neat.

Image

Turn through and push the point out with a bluntish item, chop sticks are brilliant.  Finger press the open seam and slip stitch in place.  Ta da, a needle case!  I also tried out a small envelope version, by using a small envelope as a template.

Image

although prefer the fold over roll.  The check lining is a great indian cotton left over from a dress I made this summer and is from Fabrics Galore and the ribbon is from Peter Jones.

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10360695/?claim=6qcmppkf2u4″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 thoughts on “Needlecase tutorial

Comments are closed.