Baby quilt – finished!

ferris wheel baby quilt

Last year at the Fat Quartley retreat I took Katy’s eep class and made a cushion with this Spring Carnival pattern.  Then decided to make it up as a baby quilt from the pattern, using the same bright kona solids.  The eep section did take a little while, my major stumbling block was the quilting.  I have a quilting sewing machine and have found the walking foot a real pain to use [ the machine is inov-is QC100] was meant to have continues automatic pressure that I understood to be a built in walking foot.  So I now use my old Janome walking foot and I think I just need to order the Brother version, do you have this machine?  Any tips?

ferris wheel sausage rollAnyway I have finally quilted it by machine, washed and ready to fly off to an adorable little girl.

I have missed a project to stitch in the evenings, with no knitting on the go.  I decided to try and use up all my scraps, using dressmaking and quilting fabrics all jumbled up.

IMG_2952I have found the jumbled miss matched fabrics tricky, I love it when fabrics work together or quilt tops have a design to them.  But this is a true old fashioned EPP scrappy piece and am hoping to make it up into a lap quilt or even a few cushions – then my fabric basket will be empty and I can buy some new delicious fabrics!

IMG_2956What epp projects do you love working on?

continuous automatic pressure system
continuous automatic pressure system
continuous automatic pressure system
4 thoughts on “Baby quilt – finished!

  1. I love your baby quilt. So bright and colourful. Hexies are my epp project. Just making some hexi flowers and what they become will depend on how much patience I have with the epp process.

  2. That’s so pretty! I love the way all of the little solid pieces look like the broken glass (or plastic or whatever it is) in the end of a kaleidoscope.

your comments always cheer my day!

